Worry. The happiness-eater.

Why do we worry so much?

Am I going to be late? Should I eat this? Do I have enough money in the bank for a rainy day? Can anyone tell that I didn’t iron my clothes this morning? Are the kids going to break an arm or a leg while playing? Is it going to rain tomorrow? Is Donald Trump going to bomb Syria again? etc etc.

Winston Churchill once said “I remember the story of the old man who said on his deathbed that he had had a lot of trouble in his life, most of which never happened”; while Ghandi observed “today is the tomorrow you worried about yesterday. Was it worth it?”

It’s easy to get so caught up in everyday stress that it can be all-consuming. Stop. Breathe. Look around. Enjoy the world we live in. Take off your watch and slow things down. Take a holiday and travel or relax. Stop worrying about the things that might happen. Enjoy the things that are happening.

I’m glad to say that I am taking my own advice. I’m on a sabbatical from work for two years and I plan to spend it travelling and having some serious RAS adventures. Right now I’m on a sail boat in Yeppoon and we are heading north! As usual, I’ll be blogging about all my adventures, but if anyone other than spambots is reading this post, please offer some suggestions for things you think I should write about in the comments below. (*NB this is part of an assignment for my Blogging University course.)

I’ll leave you with one final quote, from my dad: “If you worry you die, and if you don’t worry you die, so why worry?”

Cheers.

#everydayinspiration

 

Leave a Reply

